h1

Booking Through Thursday (10.30.08): Conditioning

October 30, 2008

btt2.wordpress.com

btt button

Topic: Are you a spine breaker? Or a dog-earer? Do you expect to keep your books in pristine condition even after you have read them? Does watching other readers bend the cover all the way round make you flinch or squeal in pain?

Ah, the “dog-ear” and “spine-breaking” dilemma. I have the clear-cut answer for you: NO! It just doesn’t happen to my books. When I lend books I don’t let people dog-ear either. That’s what bookmarks are for. I tend to spine-break more books than I’d want. However, it’s mostly paperbacks and my really old ones. I make sure I am careful now. I even feel a little bad when I want to do mark up my books. I’m just really overprotective over my books, what do you expect? They’re my babies. It’s not usual that I read my books twice, I just like keeping them all and looking at my collection grow. They’re still special to me after I read them. When I see people dog-ear they’re pages I tell them they shouldn’t do that, but I don’t flip out… it’s not my book is it? Charms from Reeds Jewelers


Are you obsessive over the perfect-condition of your books like me? Why are you or why aren’t you? Do you flip out if people dog-ear they’re pages?

10 comments

  1. I don’t think that I would tell someone how to treat their property. Live and let live.


  2. I’ve been known to chastise others about dog-earing, too. But I’m also guilty of it myself, from time to time. Now spine-breaking – that’s something I definitely try to avoid. Yes, books are very much like living things. They’re my friends and should be treated gently.


  3. Sally-What about books that are from the library? Or books given out at school?

    JLS Hall-I think of my books as friends too. Get a piece of paper if you don’t have a bookmark and don’t want to dog-ear.

    Thanks for commenting 🙂


  4. Yep – I always use bookmarks. I’ll make sure to send you some when I send your package next week! 🙂


  5. Lisa-Like I don’t have enough! Haha, I make bookmarks out of anything and everything. But thank you, you’re so sweet. 🙂


  6. Hmm.. It depends. Sometimes I like my books to really look worn and loved. But, other times, I like the book to be in brand new condition. 🙂


  7. I let someone look at my copy of Stardust, which was unfortunately the movie edition (I don’t usually like to buy those) and she opened it up to the movie pictures and opened it as WIDE as she could and then like opened and closed it a bunch so the spine was nice and broken. I couldn’t believe it. I almost felt like telling her to keep it. She did it right in front me too, like way to take care of someone else’s property.


  8. I definitely obsessive over the perfect-condition of your book like you! It makes me so sad whenever I see any of the pages bent or when the cover flap of paperbacks are open (by there themselves) and bent. I use to use bookmarks but I keep on losing them so now I use post-it notes which is really helpful since I can write stuff down and when I’m reading I can stick it on the back cover and stuff.

    🙂


  9. Firstly I wanted to say HI! And thanks for checking out our blog over at MyFavoriteAuthor!

    I had to comment on this because I am also ver protective of my books! And I had a horrifying discovery that a book I lent to a friend came back COVERED in pencil notes and marks IN MY BOOK!

    If it is someone else’s book you are using, do not presume that you can do anything to it other than read it…even breaking the spine should be avoided. It was just plain rude. And honestly, if you are THAT neurotic and NEED to write stuff down, then use a pad of paper, not my book.

    Just had to vent on that issue!


  10. This is a great post! I may have to “borrow” this topic for my blog!

    No, I don’t dog-ear or spine-break any of my books! I won’t even read the hardcovers with the jackets on them. And I re-read my books A LOT! I remember that I lent a book to my college roommate and the first thing she did was crack the spine open (it was a trade paperback) and I just wanted to die!! lol!



Leave a comment