h1

Cindy Ella by Robin Palmer

July 20, 2008

Title: Cindy Ella

Author: Robin Palmer
Number of Pages: 264, Paperback
Released: ’08.
Rating: 3 out of 5.
It was: BLAWSOME.
Summary: Cindy Ella Gold is an anti-princess. She thinks the prom, alongside half of the city she lives in, is superficial. She writes a letter to the editor of her school paper explaining how she thinks the prom sucks, ya-da ya-da. Everyone at school thinks she is a weirdo. However, she has support from her best friends: India, who is vegan and beautiful, and Malcolm, who is gay and fabulous. Cindy is having a little trouble in the dating department. She’s more jeans and a t-shirt and doesn’t wear makeup. She resides in an L.A home with her dad, stepmother (who rather call her Cindy Ella… after the fairy tale character), Spencer (her half baby brother who rather be naked), and the Clones (her twin stepsisters who are like totally c-o-o-l). She is boyfriendless… and has never been kissed (well, properly… the one and only guy who thinks he’s a rapper doesn’t count). Cindy is juggling between three crushes–all who seem to be her soulmates. Super-popular and hot Adam Silver, mature and sophisticated tutor Noah, and playlist-making dream-boy (who lives 3000 miles away) BklynBoy. At the end of course, you have a happy ending.
My Thoughts (may contain spoilers): I liked this book somewhat. I thought it’d be better. It barely made me laugh, even though its supposed to. It’s not a timeless book with all pop culture comments. I liked Noah’s character. I think Cindy is character very easy to relate to… she has her friends but she’s not like the most popular girl ever. However, some of the music (Bob Dylan… etc) I don’t really know… and that was kinda big in the book. BklynBoy is so nice. I loved the ending… it was so unexpected (although I knew there’d be some kind of happy ending, I didn’t expect that exact one). It was weird with the kissing in the end. But I liked the ending. However, I just give it 3 stars, it got kind of boring at times and didn’t keep me on the edge.
One comment

  1. THIS BOOK IS SUPER NICE!!!



Leave a Reply

