h1

How To Be Bad by E. Lockhart, Sarah Mlynowski, and Lauren Myracle

July 28, 2008

Title: How To Be Bad

Authors: E. Lockhart, Sarah Mlynoski, Lauren Myracle
Number of Pages: 321, hardcover.
Released: 2008.
Rating: 3.5 out of 5.
It was: blawsome. 😦
Summary: Three girls: Jesse, Vicks, and Mel. One roadtrip. Jesse is very religious, but knows that nothing can save her mama’s cancer. She hasn’t even told her best friend, Vicks. She thinks lots of what Vicks does is wrong and something God would look down upon, but she’s still her best friend and should tell her. Vicks on the other hand, is more careless and tough. She’s hard as nails and can tough out every situation put at her… but her boyfriend now is at the University of Miami and is barely returning her calls. Just flimsy, whatever texts, making their relationship suffer. Mel just moved to Niceville. She’s smokin’-rich. She lives in a huge house and looks to have everything she would want except she’s not as perfect as she seems. Her sister is the one who is pretty in her family and she’s always the monkey in the middle, making final decisions because she’s the middle child. However, a guy comes in to change her mind. This roadtrip is full of tears, angriness, happiness, laughter, and most of all, friends forever.
My Thoughts (may contain spoilers): Nice book. I really expected a lot more. I don’t know what’s wrong with me. Lately I’ve just been expecting a great book of everything and haven’t read something that is utterly amazing and I haven’t come by it. Of course, this book had charm and sweetness. It was very dramatic and cute. It was predictable. Not the Brady part, which was a good reason. I feel bad for Marco with it being awkward with Vicks afterwards. I wish it could’ve been better. Jesse’s religiousness is rather annoying, I guess because I don’t believe so in depth like that. It was nice though. I liked Old Joe. I liked how Mel felt good afterwards about her looks. I liked that they wrestled a gator, it was funny. Cheesy cute ending.
Leave a Reply

