h1

Booking Through Thursday (8.27.08): Stories

August 28, 2008

 

Booking Through Thursday #3



Website: btt2.wordpress.com

If you’re anything like me, one of your favorite reasons to read is for the story. Not for the character development and interaction. Not because of the descriptive, emotive powers of the writer. Not because of deep, literary meaning hidden beneath layers of metaphor. (Even though those are all good things.) No … it’s because you want to know what happens next?

Or, um, is it just me?

Nope, its definitely not only you. I think that a book’s actual story/plot is like 70% of the actual book. If you don’t have a good story you have nothing. Having a good story will keep reader’s on the edge asking themselves what will happen next and gasping when incredulous things occur. One time I was reading Haters by Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez and I am not even kidding when I say it was 4 in the morning and I was sitting on the floor reading… because I could not stop! Whenever I would tell myself to stop reading (hello, Vanessa, the book isn’t going anywhere) I would start predicting things that would happen next. I wanted to know what came next and wouldn’t stop until there was no more… 

2 comments

  1. Hey there,

    This Haters book has a cool cover! 😀 I’m like that too, reading until the wee hours of the morning if the book really enthrals me.


  2. Hi, Vanessa!

    I recently stumbled on your blog because I am in the midst of creating a YA blog myself. After I have it running and it meets my satisfaction, I will send you the address.

    Anyway…I just wanted to comment that I felt the same way about Haters. It was a quick read, not because of the length, but because it kept me guessing about what would happen next. Loved that book!



Leave a Reply

