h1

Contest! OMG! (I Heart You, You Haunt Me)

August 28, 2008

My first contest… woohoo!

Anyway, thanks for visiting my blog and leaving wonderful comments (they certainly make me happy).ย 

So I’m hosting my first contest… I’m thinking of keeping it going for every month but am making no promises. Here goes:

What: A marked-up copy (with comments I wrote in it) of I Heart You, You Haunt Me by Lisa Schroeder. Click here to read my review of it.

Who: U.S residents only, sorry. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Why: Because who doesn’t love a free book?

When: From August 28, 2008 to September 30, 2008. Winner will be announced October 1, 2008 in the afternoon or evening. Bookmark this website (like I do when I join contests) and check back on Oct 1 for the name of the winner. If you win you will receive an e-mail telling you what to do next. If you don’t reply my e-mail by Oct 5, 2008 I will choose another winner.

Where: Here at whatvanessareads.wordpress.com.

How: Follow these rules and you’re good:

1. Leave a comment on this post. Include:

  • name
  • your blog URL if applicable so I could visit you ๐Ÿ™‚
  • e-mail address (very necessary, I will not go crazy looking for you in the blogosphere.)
  • your answer to this question: What is your favorite genre in books and why?

2. For extra entries (tell me in the comment if you did any of these and which, leave links if necessary):ย 

  • 1 extra entry: put me on your sidebar or make a blog post including my contest.
  • 1 extra entry: tell a friend about this contest, and have them say they were referred by you on their comment.
  • 3 extra entries: make some small banners like the ones on my right sidebar (Like OMG Teens Read, Teen Tuesday, etc) but for What Vanessa Reads (if you need more ideas for this contact me).
50 comments

  1. Hey — thanks for the contest! I’d love to enter.

    It’s hard saying my favorite genre. I like all of them! I’ve really gotten into fantasy lately, but I don’t know if it’s my FAVORITE. Probably…historical fiction! That’s mine.

    -Chelsea
    thepageflipper.com
    -thepageflipper@yahoo.com


  2. Sam

    writeinpen.blogspot.com
    words.speak.volumes@gmail.com

    My favorite is realistic fiction, because i like to relate myself to the people in the books.

    FOR 1 POINT – You are on my sidebar.


  3. P.S. I have emailed you a banner. so…

    FOR 3 POINTS


  4. Hey Vanessa! I’d love to enter!
    bookluverreviews@hotmail.com
    I put a link in my sidebar: bookloverreviews.blogspot.com

    My favorite genre is probably young adult romance. I like all kinds of books, but a good romance is always fun.


  5. Rachael / The Book Muncher
    http://thebookmuncher.blogspot.com/
    away.munching.books@gmail.com

    I’ll put a link up on my list on sept 1
    http://thebookmunchercontests.blogspot.com/

    my fave genre: pretty much just YA. seriously, i cannot narrow it down from there


  6. This is an awsome contest, Vanessa.

    My favorite genre would probably be realistic fiction because I can relate to the chracters and it is ususally a good read.

    BTW, I added this contest to my contest sidebar.


  7. My favorite genre would be anything that has to do with YA. I just can’t choose. Great contest! I’ll add the contest to my blog soon. If I send out a Myspace bulletin can I get extra entries?
    -Carol
    bookluver_carol@yahoo.com


  8. sorry but i don’t have a blog i’m not a very interesting enough person to start a blog or know anything about anything to write a blog about a certain something so sorry about that : )

    um my favorite genre in books pretty much anything having to do with young adults but i do really really love fantasy! love anything like the lord of the rings, the hobbit, eragon, twilight, perks of being a wallflower, watchmen, anything superman or other dc or marvel characters, battle royale, the cider house rules

    okay i pretty much read anything, i just love all books : )


  9. Thanks for entering ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have everyone down except for these people:
    (1) Sam (Words Speak Volumes)-waiting for you to tell me where on your blog I am on your contests sidebar (I can’t find it! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ )
    (2) Rachael (Book Muncher)-waiting for Sept 1 to see your contests sidebar.
    (3) Carol (Bookluver-Carol)-waiting for your contest post too.


  10. I would love to enter this contest. And I have to say my favorite genre in books is Romantic Dramas. Just because all of my favorite books are put into that catagory. Like the Twilight saga, Uglies series, and Vampire kisses.

    mshersheyskiss408@yahoo.com


  11. My favorite genre is historical fiction. I love it, can’t get enough. About half the books on my self are related to that genre in some way. Then again, it might have to do with the fact that I love history…hence the History major. Lol.

    Oh, and you have been added to my sidebar over at my blog and after the first week of September I’ll prolly be posting another post regarding contests and your will be added (have to wait till then till others start their monthlies).

    So Idk how many points that is. Lol. Brain isn’t working, just woke up!


  12. Congratulations on your first contest! I already have this book, which is a beautiful read, so I don’t need this book.


  13. Oh, but I’ll still post it on my sidebar also!


  14. Hi! Awesome contest, I really want to win this book! ๐Ÿ™‚
    My favorite genre is probably romance. They’re such feel-good books, You know, always with a happy ending! ๐Ÿ˜‰


  15. Vanessa – wow, you are so awesome for doing this contest! What wonderful exposure for my little book.

    Thank you!

    xo
    Lisa


  16. Updates:
    (1) Sam (Words Speak Volumes)-waiting for you to tell me where on your blog I am on your contests sidebar (I canโ€™t find it! )
    (2) Rachael (Book Muncher)-waiting for Sept 1 to see your contests sidebar.
    (3) Carol (Bookluver-Carol)-waiting for your contest post too.
    (4) Kate (Book-Nymph)-waiting for contest post/sidebar.

    By the way, thanks for stopping by Lisa. I get rather giddy when authors peek at my blog. Plus, your book is little materially but not little in its impact. ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks all for entering!


  17. Congrats on your first contest!
    I’d love to enter!

    My favorite genre of books would probably have to be fantasy cause anything can happen! ๐Ÿ˜€

    thanks!
    Dominique
    bookvault@yahoo.com


  18. I say my current favourite type of genre is fantasy (as long as the author’s creatures aren’t too hard to imagine) because let’s face it, reality ain’t exciting all the time. :3

    faked_sugartone at hotmail.com


  19. –>Name: Hope

    –>URL: http://www.princess2293.blogspot.com

    –>E-mail Address: hopesblog AT hotmail DOT com

    –>Fave Genre and Why: I think my favorite genre right now, in this moment, is fantasy. I read City of Bones recently, and I loved it, which is why right now I love fantasy. My favorite genre changes all the time, though, so you can never know with me. :p

    You shall be added to my sidebar. ๐Ÿ˜€

    hope.


  20. My favorite genre to read is Paranormal (I love to read about the vamps). Enjoyed the Twilight series and I’m always looking for more, congrats on your first contest! tWarner419@aol.com


  21. Awesome contest definitley enter me!

    Jessica
    chicklitteens@gmail.com


  22. My favorite genre would be vampires. Or, okay, that’s not a genre. Then I’ll go with YA. Because it’s so easy to relate to, and it’s usually stories that could happen to anyone.

    One extra entry please! I posted a blog entry about you!


  23. Great contest! Count me in. ๐Ÿ™‚


  24. I really like books about Murder Mystery that is light-hearted. I love Janet Evanovich, Sue Grafton, Dianne Mott Davidson and Tamar Myers.


  25. My favorite genre? Hmmm…I guess I’d have to say YA, but chick-lit is a super close second. I think I love those genres the most because they’re most often light hearted and humoress while still having a seriousness about it that can resonate with readers own experiences.


  26. :]
    i’ve wanted to read this book for just about EVER!

    my favorite genre of books would have to be Science Fiction. i enjoy Science Fiction because it makes you think outside of the box we call life, and it throws you into a new world that can help you just escape life. :]

    im going to post the banner i made for LOTR on the LOTR site, under your contest.


  27. Hey! I’d love to enter for this. I’ve blogged about it here: http://blog.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=blog&pop=1

    Thanks for the contest!

    ~bella aire~


  28. oh! And my favorite genre is fantasy romance probably. I’ll blame it on reading Ella Enchanted one too many times in 4th grade ๐Ÿ˜‰


  29. Name: Moriah
    E-mail: hylianvampire[at]hotmail[dot]com
    Blog: http://www.hylianvampire.blogspot.com

    and i posted a link to your contest at my blog: http://hylianvampire.blogspot.com/

    thank you for this wonderful contest.


  30. aw man i’m sorry i clicked too fast and i didn’t post my favourite genre. well it’s YA paranormal/fantasy (if that’s even one.. xD)


  31. and of course the evil message goblins erased my reason that i like that genre!! >> it’s because I like to read books where the story in them can’t happen in real life


  32. Everyone up to Moriah is entered.
    Of course there’s a few whom I’m waiting on to post me on the sidebar:
    1. Sam (writeinpen.blogspot.com)
    2. Carol (bookluver-carol.blogspot.com)
    3. Kate (book-nymph.blogspot.com)


  33. I have a tie between YA and chick lit… and maybe classics like Pride and Prejudice, which is classic chick lit, I guess. I relate to the characters. I may not be experiencing the same things, but I have felt similar things to them and I understand their emotional journeys. The characters cross the pages of books and I can recognize them in my friends, in my family. Also, with the classics, I feel as if I should have been born in a different time period so it feels like home to me when I read them.


  34. Name: Cyndi
    Email: mistique44952@yahoo.com
    Favorite Genre: Romance, because who doesn’t love a good love story?


  35. I have wanted to read this book. ๐Ÿ™‚

    So, favorite genre would have to be Fantasy or Thriller/Suspense. I love books with a Supernatural twist


  36. I’d love to win a copy of your book I Heart You, You Haunt Me. Though, I would make sure to ignore your little comments – those thoughts are private and i wouldn’t want to “spy” on them.

    ->Favourite Genre: Science Fiction because there’s a whole new world to explore there inbetween the covers of the book. I love to just “throw away” all previous knowledge about life and immerse myself within a new one.
    ->1 Extra Entry: I blogged about your contest (and others) here: http://fallenpenguin.blogspot.com/
    ->Name: Meghan
    ->E-mail: twiliwolf228 (at) aol (dot) com

    And i was referred to this contest by Moriah (hylianvampire (at) hotmail (dot) com) so please give her another entry. she’s the one with the er… goblin issue xD


  37. name: katlynn
    e-mail: katlyncore@aol.com
    favorite genre: i really like anything supernatural (especially vampires) because real life sucks. you get to be caught up in a world where anything can happen. if you’re having a bad day, you can just pick up a book and forget about life for a few hours. also, the books i like always have some romance in it because it makes things more interesting.


  38. Okay I have everyone up to Katlynn down.

    I’ve sent an e-mail to two people who have yet to do a blog post or sidebar post for the contest.

    Thanks for entering guys!

    Vanessa


  39. By the way, for this contest I don’t give extra entries for MySpace bulletins… I know I’ll include it for my next contest!


  40. I like many different genres–Christian fiction, Paranormal, Chick Lit, etc.
    digicat @ sbcglobal.net


  41. You are on my Blog’s list of book websites/contests.
    http://carolsbloggys.blogspot.com/

    digicat @ sbcglobal.net


  42. I’m listing my email and blog URL in the boxes above (I’m assuming those transfer to the comment… sorry if it doesn’t work and you can’t find me in the blog-o-sphere).

    My favorite genre is literary fiction–I love reading books with strong emotional bonds (especially mother/daughter or father/son) and conflicts that arise in everyday (seemingly ordinary) situations.


  43. sorry my email is katlynncore@aol.com i misspelled it!!


  44. This is so cool. I have never been in a book drawing before and I keep asking myself why?? This is really nice of you to give away the things you love.
    Anywho, my favorite genre would have to be historical fiction.. I am one of the biggest fans that Jane austen has ever had. She is awesome and she converted me to the world of historical fiction.. Yet, I must say that fantasy isn’t that bad either. Books like “Eragon” and “Journey to the Center of the Earth”, I would say are easy to gobble up.

    – Elizabeth L.
    http://www.myspace.com/shrek4me225 (Its all I have)

    vegibeth16 (at) yahoo.com


  45. Sharon
    http://sharonlovesbooksandcats.blogspot.com/
    sharonluvscats80@yahoo.com
    What is your favorite genre in books and why? My favorite genre would have to be science fiction. I find that science fiction books are often the most imaginative and action packed.


  46. * Esther
    * eshinobi@weirdness.com
    * My favourite genre is absolutely fantasy. What I would give to go beyond the limit of everyday life is well… is beyond the limit of everyday. Wouldn’t you love to soar the skies with dragons, live lives with elves, fairies, friends, foes, warriors, soldiers, leaders, rulers, and everyone you can think of?! I would give anything, to go there, into fantasy.
    *By the way, I’m in western Canada, just trying. -_-


  47. Hi, I would love to enter the contest =]

    My favorite genre is paranormal romance. Love is so hard to come by, so I like to read these stories and just imagine. What can I say? I’m a total sucker for romance and I absolutely love vampires, demons and those sort of things. I’m always on the lookout for some new romance books.

    lidochinkywinky@msn.com


  48. Everyone so far is entered.

    Esther, I’m sorry but I can’t send books to Canada. I’m a broke 15 year old. Sorry! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ


  49. Hurray for poor 15 year old book lovers!!! YAY~~~~

    oh wait… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ


  50. Moriah- Haha, At least there’s the library.



Leave a Reply

