Archive for September 4th, 2008

h1

Booking Through Thursday (9.4.08): Peer Pressure

September 4, 2008

 

 

 

Topic: I was looking through books yesterday at the shops and saw all the Twilight books, which I know basically nothing about. What I do know is that I’m beginning to feel like I’m the *only* person who knows nothing about them.

Despite being almost broke and trying to save money, I almost bought the expensive book (Australian book prices are often completely nutty) just because I felt the need to be ‘up’ on what everyone else was reading.

Have you ever felt pressured to read something because ‘everyone else’ was reading it? Have you ever given in and read the book(s) in question or do you resist? If you are a reviewer, etc, do you feel it’s your duty to keep up on current trends?

Answer: Yes that has happened to me. When the whole Twilight craziness began I gave up and bought the book. Mind you, I am not a person who enjoys fantasy tales, I’m more of a realistic fiction person. I bought it because I though “If everyone likes it then I have to like it too”. I bought Twilight last December. I began to read it and I just didn’t connect very much with the story. The romance was too corny, the whole vampire thing is not that interesting to me. I just didn’t like it very much. As of now, it’s still on my shelf half read. I’m thinking of selling it. I felt pressured to read this book because everyone just kept talking about it saying it was the best thing ever. So that’s one book I gave in and read. I don’t think I’ve given into anything else. As a reviewer, I don’t feel as though I have to keep up with current trends in books because I have my review site #1 for me. I want people to benefit from it but I won’t read something that doesn’t call out to me. Now I know not to think about getting a book just because its popular… it just disappoints me.

Have you ever read a book just because its popular? Which? Did the hype match the book? Or was it not that good? Let me know in the comments. 🙂