Archive for September 28th, 2008

h1

Sisters of Misery by Megan Kelley Hall

September 28, 2008

Title: Sisters of Misery

Author: Megan Kelley Hall

Rating: ★★★★★

Number of Pages: 308

Edition: Paperback

Year: 2008

 

 

 

 

Contains: Mystery/Suspense, Drama, Relationships, Romance, Coming-Of-Age

Analysis of Book (1-10 on each aspect):

Characters: 10

Plot: 10

Writing: 10

Wow Factor: 10

(WOW… PERFECT 10!)

Summary: Maddie Crane has the perfect last name, making it easy for her to be socially involved with the most powerful girls in school, the Sisters of Misery. However, she doesn’t have the perfect life. Her dad walked out on her and her mom when she was just a child, leaving behind financial problems. Abigail, her mother, sticks Maddie into every social situation she can, yet barely pays attention to her. Maddie gets the change of a lifetime when her aunt, Rebecca, and cousin, Cordelia, move into Hawthorne, MA with her, Abigail, and Maddie’s grandma Tess. Cordelia is beautiful, full of life, and adventurous. Maddie and Cordelia become best friends and that strains Maddie’s friendship with Kate, the meanest of the group, and the rest of the Sisters of Misery. The Sisters of Misery do not like this intruder to their small town and they want revenge. In a turn of events, Cordelia goes missing and no one knows where she could be. Can Maddie find her in time or is it too late? Maddie will have to piece together the mystery that is her town, its past with witchcraft, and the people she thinks are her friends in the race to find her beloved cousin.

My Review(spoiler-free!): What can I say? I’m in love with this book. It literally blew me away. Completely. Utterly. It was beautiful. It was scary. It gave me this feeling of fright, amazement, and a need to keep reading… I was still up at two in the morning just finishing it because I needed to know what would happen next, flowing from beginning to end. Maddie is understandable and probably my favorite character. Cordelia’s beauty and self-assuredness make Maddie braver and make her see her “friends” with new eyes… and opened up my eyes to what Maddie has had to be involved in since she was a little girl. I was suspicious all throughout the whole novel of what happened to Cordelia and who did it. The ending was astounding. I could not believe what I was reading. It all clicked then and made it all more amazing. All the characters were well-written and in depth. The writing was beautiful, Mrs. Kelley Hall really has a way with words. I wrote down many cool words I learned by reading this book… some include: decrepit, dilapidated, siphoned, Houdini, and tourniquet. I’d never read a mystery book so good. The plot was creative and something I’ve never read about. It was interesting and I think the witchcraft involved make it all that much better. The beginning of every chapter had a little insight of what that chapter was about and the gemstone that went with it so with that and the past chapters I was predicting and always coming out wrong. You can not predict this book, but what you can (and should do) is read it! I certainly loved it and can’t wait for the sequel… The Lost Sister!

My Thoughts(contains spoilers so please don’t read it unless you’ve read the book. I don’t want to spoil it for you!): Oh lord, this book was great. I could not figure out who Cordelia was romantically involved with. I had Reed, Finn, Kate, Trevor, everyone pinned to who took Cordelia and I was aghast to learn she’d left herself because of Abigail. The ending was like “wow wow wow” I just stared at my ceiling for like five minutes thinking about everything that went on in this book. I liked Reed but at the same time I didn’t. I kind of wanted Maddie to end up with Finn because he was so helpful at the asylum with Rebecca. I did not like Abigail one bit. She was just didn’t care about Maddie really. The things Rebecca planted were very mysterious and I tried to figure them out. Megan tricked me into thinking it was all these people and never really Abigail. Kate was evil; she was just so mean. She made everyone feel bad and I just wanted her to be the one disappearing. I think Trevor is a scum for raping Cordelia, but these characters were just the way they were because of their surroundings and their past. I just really loved this book and want everyone to read it and love it too.

 

Do you want to read this book? Have you read this book? What did you think? 

Stick around… an interview with Megan Kelley Hall (the author of this book) is coming up shortly!