h1

Gingerbread by Rachel Cohn

October 24, 2008

Title: Gingerbread

Author: Rachel Cohn

Grade: C 

Number of Pages: 205

Edition: Paperback

Year: 2002

Extra Info: First book in the Gingerbread series… the next two books are Shrimp and Cupcake.

Contains: Drama, coming-of-age, romance, relationships. 

Analysis of Book (1-10 on each aspect):

Characters: 9

Plot: 5

Writing: 8

Wow Factor: 6

 

Summary (from rachelcohn.com): After being kicked out of a fancy New England boarding school, Cyd Charisse is back home in San Francisco with her parents, Sid and Nancy, in a household that drives her crazy. Lucky for Cyd, she’s always had Gingerbread, her childhood rag doll and confidante. 

After Cyd tests her parents’ permissiveness, she is grounded in Alcatraz (as Cyd calls her room). But when her incarceration proves too painful for the whole family, Cyd’s parents decide to send her to New York to meet her biological father and his family, whom Cyd has always longed to know. 
Summer in the city is not what Cyd Charisse expects – and Cyd isn’t what her newfound family expects, either. 

My Review : It was good, charming, and fast. The plot isn’t really all that special, but Cyd Charisse definitely is. I loved Cyd and her spontaneity towards anything and everything. She just really does what goes through her mind and sometimes I wish I could do that. I really liked the characters in this book, especially Wallace (hopefully there’s more of him in the next books), and Cyd’s half-sib from her dad’s side Danny. I loved how the chapters were short, so you always have a good stopping point if you’re on the go. The thing with this book is that it was fair overall as in anyone can write from this plot. I expected a lot more coming from Rachel Cohn (having already read Nick & Norah’s). I guess this can be defended by the fact that it’s her first book and she’s gotten better since. Give it a shot, you’ll love the quirky writing, the crazily amazing Cyd, the support characters, and the fact that there’s two more books in the series!

 

Have you read this book? What did you think? Would you like to read this book? Why?

9 comments

  1. I pretty much disliked N&N, but I really liked this book when I read it in, like, 2003 or 2004. I’m so glad you liked Cyd Charisse! I tried reading the sequels and couldn’t really get into them, but Rachel Cohn will always have a special place in my heart because she was one of the first true, edgy YA author I read – loved it then and love it now.


  2. I really liked N&N. Why didn’t you like it?

    Cyd Charisse is a wonderful character I’d never think lived out there, and her perspective was a very refreshing one.

    I’m still going to try the other two books, and I hope I like them.

    Thanks for commenting Steph!


  3. Didn’t like N&N because I could never get into it. Basically, I felt it rambled more than it told the story. The set up’s awesome and I would’ve loved to see it working out in a way that didn’t dawdle so much. I wrote a review actually – read it if you’re interested 🙂

    Steph


  4. I just mooched Cupcake mistaking it for the first book in the series! I’ll have to find the previous two! This sounds like a cute series with a great lead character!


  5. Alea-Ugh, I hate when that happens. I hope you find the first two and tell me what you think about them. 🙂


  6. Sounds good! 😀


  7. I’m surprised you gave Gingerbread a C; most people seem to love it, myself included. I think it’s probably my favorite Rachel Cohn book. It’s nice to read a dissenting opinion, though 🙂


  8. Jocelyn- I don’t know… I just didn’t take it was that great. I liked Rachel Cohn’s other books much better (the ones she cowrote with David Levithan). I’m glad you liked it.


  9. HONESTLY I DIDNT LIKE THE BOOK BECAUSE IT GETS ME CONFUSED.IM TRYING TO DO A BOOKREPORT AND I REALLY JUT…….WEELL I DINT LIKE THE BOOK SRRY!!♥☻



Leave a Reply

