Archive for December 23rd, 2008

h1

I Bought 13 Books Today!

December 23, 2008

Christmas came a bit early for me. My mommy and I went to Barnes & Noble today. She bought me a whopping THIRTEEN books. This kind of makes her uh, the best person ever. (Aside from being the best person ever because she’s a great mom.)

Here’s all I bought:

1. I Know It’s Over by C.K Kelley Martin: YAY!!!!!! Everyone’s totally raving and I finally got me a copy!

2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: My mom read the back and even she’s interested in it.

 

3. Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott: I think my love for Elizabeth Scott books is understandable… she’s amazing.

 

4. Before I Die by Jenny Downham: I’ve been eyeing this one, just never bought it. I saw a review on a fellow blogger’s blog and can’t remember which one. I was encouraged to get it by them.

 

5. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray: I’ve been wanting this one… it looks really good.

 

6. Cracked Up To Be by Courtney Summers: Have you seen all of the reviews for this one?

 

7. In Your Room by Jordanna Fraiberg: I just want to read a good love story. I think this will do the trick.

 

8. Looking for Alaska by John Green: This is like everybody’s favorite book. And I love me some John Green.

 

9. Just Like That by Marsha Qualey: This wasn’t originally on my list but it caught my eye. The plot looks intriguing and the cover is beautiful. 

 

10-13. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series by Ann Brashares: I was really hoping for this. Everyone has read it and I haven’t!

 

 

Lucky, eh? See you guys!

Have a Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays. 🙂

Advertisements
h1

Far From You by Lisa Schroeder

December 23, 2008

 Title: Far From You

Author: Lisa Schroeder

Edition: Paperback

Number of Pages: 368

Grade: B+

Contains: Coming-of-Age, Drama, Fantasy, Relationships, Romance.

Analysis of Book (1-10 on each aspect):

Characters: 10

Plot: 9

Writing: 10

Wow Factor: 9

 

Since Sunday, a very special release has been in the making… leading up to today. First Liv posted her VLOG, reading her favorite excerpt from the book. Then I posted my VLOG yesterday. And today Lisa has posted her VLOG. I hope you have checked those all out and entered the contest. Lisa’s book Far From You released today. HAPPY RELEASE DAY, LISA!!!! (Wish Lisa a happy release day at the link of her VLOG.) Make sure you go to the bookstore today or ask Santa for the book under the tree. Just make sure you read this book, because you will NOT be disappointed.

 

Summary (from lisaschroederbooks.com): Do you believe in angels? FAR FROM YOU is a story of love and loss, and reminds us what’s really important in life. Fans of I HEART YOU, YOU HAUNT ME are sure to enjoy this novel-in-verse feauturing 16-year-old Alice, a singer/songwriter who’s had her share of hard times, and unfortunately, has more to come. What will pull her through? Her music? The love of her boyfriend, Blaze? Or perhaps, an angel, here on earth?

 

ReviewIf I could sum up this book in one word the word would be “beautiful”. We’re told this heart-wrenching story of a girl named Alice who lost her mother to cancer and isn’t as connected to her dad now that he has remarried and is expecting a new baby. Alice’s emotions definitely come across strongly. I felt bad for Alice, I wanted to do something to help her.

I could totally relate to the story because I have a stepmom and half-siblings also. Everything Alice goes through in the book, I understood how hard it must be for her and for her family. I truly believe girls in this world are like Alice proving that Lisa Schroeder knows how to create authentic characters. Oh, and yes there is fantasy in the book… it’s just very subtle. That is something I was very glad to see because you all already know I’m not a fantasy-junkie. It was a good amount and it entailed a phenomenal message.

Since it is told in verse, it is a quick read. I read it in one sitting. But truthfully, I had to stop more then once to think about what was occurring. This is not a cute summer read; it is really an impacting read. Lisa Schroeder KNOWS how to write. She knows how to write very well… the words she chooses, the way she organizes them s l o w l y and carefully. I want her to continue writing… I’m definitely a fan. 

In the end, I was a bigger person. I cried, but I was still a bigger person. I felt more of a connection even with my own stepmom and went and told her about the book. This book is something I veryyyyy highly recommend. So, what the heck are you waiting for? Go BUY IT!