Archive for December, 2008

h1

I Bought 13 Books Today!

December 23, 2008

Christmas came a bit early for me. My mommy and I went to Barnes & Noble today. She bought me a whopping THIRTEEN books. This kind of makes her uh, the best person ever. (Aside from being the best person ever because she’s a great mom.)

Here’s all I bought:

1. I Know It’s Over by C.K Kelley Martin: YAY!!!!!! Everyone’s totally raving and I finally got me a copy!

2. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: My mom read the back and even she’s interested in it.

 

3. Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott: I think my love for Elizabeth Scott books is understandable… she’s amazing.

 

4. Before I Die by Jenny Downham: I’ve been eyeing this one, just never bought it. I saw a review on a fellow blogger’s blog and can’t remember which one. I was encouraged to get it by them.

 

5. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray: I’ve been wanting this one… it looks really good.

 

6. Cracked Up To Be by Courtney Summers: Have you seen all of the reviews for this one?

 

7. In Your Room by Jordanna Fraiberg: I just want to read a good love story. I think this will do the trick.

 

8. Looking for Alaska by John Green: This is like everybody’s favorite book. And I love me some John Green.

 

9. Just Like That by Marsha Qualey: This wasn’t originally on my list but it caught my eye. The plot looks intriguing and the cover is beautiful. 

 

10-13. The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series by Ann Brashares: I was really hoping for this. Everyone has read it and I haven’t!

 

 

Lucky, eh? See you guys!

Have a Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays. 🙂

h1

Far From You by Lisa Schroeder

December 23, 2008

 Title: Far From You

Author: Lisa Schroeder

Edition: Paperback

Number of Pages: 368

Grade: B+

Contains: Coming-of-Age, Drama, Fantasy, Relationships, Romance.

Analysis of Book (1-10 on each aspect):

Characters: 10

Plot: 9

Writing: 10

Wow Factor: 9

 

Since Sunday, a very special release has been in the making… leading up to today. First Liv posted her VLOG, reading her favorite excerpt from the book. Then I posted my VLOG yesterday. And today Lisa has posted her VLOG. I hope you have checked those all out and entered the contest. Lisa’s book Far From You released today. HAPPY RELEASE DAY, LISA!!!! (Wish Lisa a happy release day at the link of her VLOG.) Make sure you go to the bookstore today or ask Santa for the book under the tree. Just make sure you read this book, because you will NOT be disappointed.

 

Summary (from lisaschroederbooks.com): Do you believe in angels? FAR FROM YOU is a story of love and loss, and reminds us what’s really important in life. Fans of I HEART YOU, YOU HAUNT ME are sure to enjoy this novel-in-verse feauturing 16-year-old Alice, a singer/songwriter who’s had her share of hard times, and unfortunately, has more to come. What will pull her through? Her music? The love of her boyfriend, Blaze? Or perhaps, an angel, here on earth?

 

ReviewIf I could sum up this book in one word the word would be “beautiful”. We’re told this heart-wrenching story of a girl named Alice who lost her mother to cancer and isn’t as connected to her dad now that he has remarried and is expecting a new baby. Alice’s emotions definitely come across strongly. I felt bad for Alice, I wanted to do something to help her.

I could totally relate to the story because I have a stepmom and half-siblings also. Everything Alice goes through in the book, I understood how hard it must be for her and for her family. I truly believe girls in this world are like Alice proving that Lisa Schroeder knows how to create authentic characters. Oh, and yes there is fantasy in the book… it’s just very subtle. That is something I was very glad to see because you all already know I’m not a fantasy-junkie. It was a good amount and it entailed a phenomenal message.

Since it is told in verse, it is a quick read. I read it in one sitting. But truthfully, I had to stop more then once to think about what was occurring. This is not a cute summer read; it is really an impacting read. Lisa Schroeder KNOWS how to write. She knows how to write very well… the words she chooses, the way she organizes them s l o w l y and carefully. I want her to continue writing… I’m definitely a fan. 

In the end, I was a bigger person. I cried, but I was still a bigger person. I felt more of a connection even with my own stepmom and went and told her about the book. This book is something I veryyyyy highly recommend. So, what the heck are you waiting for? Go BUY IT!

h1

VLOG: Far From You by Lisa Schroeder + excerpt + contest!

December 22, 2008

Hi! 🙂

It’s Dec. 22. Do you know what happens today? My VLOG for Lisa Schroeder book release/contest gets posted!

The first VLOG (go here to watch the video and enter for an extra entry) is over at Liv’s place. Go see it! (And watch the bloopers too, they were hilarious.)

Done with that? Okay, now watch VLOG #2: my video:

 

I hope you guys liked it! Leave your comments in the comments section of my my blog!

To see the complete list of prizes click here.

Remember to check Lisa’s Livejournal or MySpace for her VLOG, it will be posted tomorrow.

And pleaseeee mark your calendars DEC. 23 is when FAR FROM YOU comes out. You seriously do need to buy it. Like I said in the video, it’s absolutely amazing. I LOVED it. My review for it will be posted tomorrow (even though I talked about some of it in the video).

HAPPY HOLIDAYS to you guys. Read a lot during this break! 

See you!

h1

What’s on your Holiday Wishlist?

December 19, 2008

Hi booklovers,

Christmas, Kwanzaa, Chanukah, Three Kings Day, and any other winter holiday I am forgetting is right around the corner. So I have an easy question for you guys… what books are on your wishlist?

I know a large part of my wishlist is just books. (Including a bookshelf to fit them all!) 

What books are on your wishlist for the holidays?

Leave your answers in the comments! 

————

Books on my wishlist:


1. I Know It’s Over by CK Kelley Martin: the plot just looks incredible and the reviews coming back for this book are phenomenal. What did you expect?


2. The whole Harry Potter series: Need I say more than the title?


3. The whole Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series: I’ve watched both movies but incredibly haven’t read the books. I need this!


4. Death by Bikini by Linda Gerber: I have Death By Latte (contest win) and don’t have the first one. Plus, I love mysteries!


5. Before I Die by Jenny Downham: Aside from the great reviews this one has been getting, I just want a book that makes me see what other people go through. 


6. The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold: It looks stupendous. Did you know it’s being made into a movie in 2009? Link here

 


7. In Your Room by Jordanna Fraiberg: It looks so cute and light, I want to read some real romance!

 

8. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray: I see a girl carrying the last book in the series, The Sweet Far Thing, for like 2 weeks now (it’s an 800-page book). Wondering where I see her reading it? In the bathroom after 2nd period! It must be good… and the covers are beautiful. 

 

 

 

 

What books are on your wishlist for the holidays? Any suggestions on what else I should put on my wishlist?

h1

Booking Through Thursday (12.18.08): Treat and Generosity

December 18, 2008

 

 

btt2.wordpress.com

This week’s Booking Through Thursday comes in two parts. Why? Because two have been posted! 🙂

 

First post:

What is the best book you ever bought for yourself? And, why? What made it the best? What made it so special?

The best book I have ever bought for myself is probably Rumors: A Luxe Novel by Anna Godbersen (the second one). I love the series and the second book was uh, the best one so far. I just love the way Godbersen writes. I love how the characters are… the plot, everything. I can’t wait for the next one which I will also buy with my own money, if that’s what it takes.

 

Second post:

 

Do you give books as gifts? To everyone? Or only to select people? How do you feel about receiving books as gifts?

Yes, I give books as gifts. Not to everyone because not everyone I know loves to read as much as I do to want books for gifts. 

My friends don’t really read much, except once in a while… so I can only give them a book I KNOW they will positively love. I LOVE to receive books as gifts. They make me so friggen happy. Especially if it’s a book I’ve been waiting around for (uh-hmm, that’s why I have a Wishlist on Shelfari!). I hope I get books for the holidays!

h1

Girl Week Over At Reviewer X’s Place

December 17, 2008

Steph is freaking amazing. She’s having a week-long (awesome) event called Girl Week. Basically superb authors are stopping by with guest blogs and interviews… all pertaining to feminism and strong females! Of course, she couldn’t have stopped there… so she’s bringing in a crazy amount of book reviews and of course contests! 

Click here to see the Table of Contents (aka everything that is happening). 

So check on over until Dec. 21 and celebrate WOMEN! (Because uh, we rock.)

 

Edit: Here are some great things I’ve found so far on her blog:

This interview with Melissa Walker.

This guest blog, which is awesome, by CK Kelley Martin.

This interview with Libba Bray. She’s so cool.

This interview with Megan McCafferty. Amazing much?

h1

Waiting On Wednesday (1)

December 17, 2008

breakingthespine.blogspot.com

Waiting on Wednesday: 12.17.08

 

Release Date: April 2, 2009.

Summary: Lozzie Cracknell is a girl on the edge. Her parents have recently separated; she forgot to mail the invitations to her mum’s super-important client party; the school bully is out to get her following an unfortunate e-mail incident involving Photoshop and a picture of a horse’s behind; and now it looks like Mum might be dating her English teacher, the utterly loathsome Mr. Hilary Barnett.

Just when she’s got about as much stress as she can handle, Lozzie and her best mate Dex stumble upon a tantalizing mystery—it seems Mr. Barnett is being blackmailed. But who on earth would blackmail a bore like him, and why? As they delve deeper into the mystery, questions pile on top of questions, and the one thing that does become clear is that danger can lurk in totally unexpected places . . .

Packed with irresistibly quirky characters, startling twists, and laugh-out-loud humor, this breathlessly paced comic mystery is all but impossible to put down. 

 

Does it look good or what?