h1

Girl vs. Bear: Stories from the 80s by Lisa Kerr

January 8, 2009

 Title: Girl vs. Bear: Stories from the 80s

 Author: Lisa Kerr

 Edition: Paperback

 Number of Pages: 114

 Grade: B+

 

 Contains: Coming-of age, Short Stories, Romance, Relationships, Drama.

 

Analysis of Book (1-10 on each aspect):

Writing: 9

Plot: This book is made up of short stories, overall- 8.

Characters: 9

Wow: 9

 

Summary (from booksurge.com): These provocative short stories follow a series of teenage heroines coming of age in the 1980’s—a decade full of big hair, make-out parties, material girls, and radical surfers. The young women here grapple with the mysteries of young love, sex, death, and parents. With humor and generosity, Kerr investigates what it means to be an adolescent girl as her protagonists face down bad reputations, drunken perverts, fistfights and, of course, killer bears.

Review: This book was a great look at life in the 80s. Lisa Kerr truly knows what she’s writing about. My favorite story was Knife Fights which is about a girl who’s best friend is both her friend and her rival. All of the stories described important subjects which are relevant for the time era and even now like friends, rivals, boys, and music. They really got down to the detail of touch, smell, sight, which made me feel like I was right there watching it unfold in front of me. The stories had strong and very relatable characters. Girl vs. Bear is mostly written in second-person, using “you”. It is normally not used in books, and Lisa Kerr knew how to use it well. I cannot wait for her to publish again, short stories or chapter books. You really need to get your hands on this.    

Wait around for an interview with Lisa Kerr… she’s really down-to-earth and interesting, I promise!


9 comments

  1. I did not know about this book, and I so want to read it now! Thanks for reviewing books that aren’t always really well known, because I love hearing about a good book I hadn’t heard about before! 🙂


  2. Lisa- I bet you’d like it. 🙂 Stick around and you’ll catch an interview with Lisa Kerr which entails a lot more about the book.


  3. This looks book looks excellent! Everyday my list to read gets longer and longer! :]


  4. Katie- I know what you mean! Haha.


  5. Hm. This looks interesting… I’ll have to check it out sometime. :]

    You’ve been nominated. :] Check out my post here: http://princess2293.blogspot.com/2009/01/awards.html

    hope.


  6. I’ve got this one in my stack of books. It looks pretty good. I also nominated you for an award! At http://teenbookreview.wordpress.com/2009/01/11/premio-dardos/.


  7. Jocelyn- Get to it like now. 🙂 It’s awesome. And thanks for the nomination!


  8. I’m torn between finding their entire idea of a book of “stories of the ’80s” to be utterly bizarre (I mean, I have as much nostalgia — most of it for things I never actually experienced — as anyone, but… really?), and really, really wanting to read this.


  9. This sounds really cool. The only book I know that uses 2nd person (besides choose your own adventure) is Bright Lights, Big City by Jay McInerney. Plus, I love the 80s, so…this sounds chill.



Leave a Reply

