Archive for August 19th, 2008

h1

When It Happens by Susane Colasanti

August 19, 2008

Title: When It Happens

Author: Susane Colasanti

Rating: ★★★★ ½

Number of Pages: 310

Edition: Paperback

Summary: Seniors Tobey and Sara have different goals. Tobey, a known slacker, wants to become famous for his music with his band. Sara, smart and pretty, wants to get into her first-choice college: NYU. Tobey and Sara both have great friends: Mike and Josh, and Laila and Maggie, respectively. But that’s definitely not all they have in common. They are both looking for “something real” in the love department. Sara wants Dave, whom she has been waiting to call her all summer. Dave, popular and gorgeous, seems very interested in her. Tobey, on the other hand, has had his eyes on Sara for a while and will do anything to make her understand they are meant to be. Over time, everything falls into place for Tobey and Sara. And it’s definitely “something real”.

 

My Review (spoiler-free): Ah, this is such an outstanding book. I love love stories like this. This is a real love story (not like Twilight, in my opinion…). I love how it’s told in alternating points of view (Sara and Tobey’s). Susane Colasanti writes very well, I totally could connect with the characters’s problems and insecurities. It’s like she’s one of us. It’s amazing. I do have some tiny complaints (I did not rate it five stars as you can see): sometimes I got lost while there was dialogue between Mike, Josh, and Tobey or Maggie, Laila, and Sara. It’s like I didn’t know who was saying what. Also, Maggie and Laila were hard to differentiate (even though it should have been easy) because they talk alike. I love Tobey for Sara. He’s cute, witty, musical, and laid-back. Sara is very much like me and I liked her as a character. I laughed a lot of times while reading. This book is not all happy-feeling. There are parts where it wasn’t all lovey-dovey and serious matters were faced. I hardly read books where the characters are 18-ish. I definitely want to read more. When I finished, I wanted more. In the end, I loved loved loved this book. You should most definitely pick this one up; I promise it won’t disappoint.

 

My Thoughts (read this if you’ve read the book, it contains spoilers): Yay, spoilers! I thought Dave was such a bleep. He was trying to sleep with Sara… it was so annoying! And he’s a virgin; it was hilarious. What he did while Tobey was playing Battle of the Bands was irritating as well. He’s just mad Sara left him for a better guy like Tobey. I feel bad for Sara and her relationship with her mom. I also feel bad about Maggie and what happened with her parents. I understand why Sara got mad about Cynthia being Tobey’s first time and it was so adorable how he got her back by doing the boom box scene! It was so wow how they had literally everything in common. They were so meant to be. I wonder what happens to them after the book, when they go to college. I want to read Susane Colasanti’s other book,Take Me There.

 

Sorry it’s a little late… I finished it before last night but couldn’t get on because Tropical Storm Fay kicked off my internet.

Have something to say about the book? Comment below :). Remember to advise if your comment contains spoilers!

h1

Teen Tuesday (8.19.08): Oh, Thank You Not-So-Mighty Tropical Storm Fay (Vanessa)

August 19, 2008

~~

*Teen Tuesday is the day we set aside for teen book lovers to visit with each other to find out what’s being read in the world of young adult literature. You can comment whether you are a participant or not. Visit all the posters at teentuesday.blogspot.com*

~~

Blog URL: whatvanessareads.wordpress.com
Message Board URL: likeomgteensread.com (click Here where it says “Looking for the Message Board? Click here”.
E-mail: whatvanessareads@hotmail.com

Hiya guys!

I had an okay reading week. I got through two semi-long books. However, this was only possible because of Tropical Storm Fay hitting us with a little bit of rain and the first two days of school becoming days of no-school (what a way to start of the year…).

Book number one: Perfect You by Elizabeth Scott. I liked it a lot. I just thought it would be more omg-I-can’t-stop-reading it like I was with Bloom but nonetheless it was great. There’s lots of family and friend drama there with a touch of romance. Click here for the review.

The next book I read would be When It Happens by Susane Colasanti.
This book was EXCEPTIONALLY AMAZING. I loved it completely. This is my type of love story. Basically it’s filled with romance from beginning to end and a tad of friendships/family and drama. My review is here. I loved the main characters: Sara and Tobey. They are so meant to be.
The book I’m reading now is The Luxe by Anna Godbersen (Chelsie has suggested it with a lot of enthusiasm) and I’m about 100-something pages in. It’s great. The vocabulary is huge… I’m learning by context clues, lol. Also, the dresses and the men. I can just see what’s in the rest of the book… Elizabeth Holland is so naive. Hopefully I’ll read this and Rumors (and Envy when it comes out) and then I’ll have one of my first series-books I read (I think I read too much stand-alone).
Talking about series, there will be a third and fourth book in the Ruby Oliver series (one of the first series I read) and the next book will be released in 2009 and will be called The Treasure Map of Boys. I loved The Boyfriend List and The Boy Book and I can’t wait for this one.
Also, click here to read Alisa Valdes-Rodriguez’s blog posts about Stephenie Meyer possibly being racist. There’s a couple, just go down a little and start with the first one titled “Is Stephenie Meyer racist?” What do you guys think?
That’s basically it.
Hope you guys have a great week!
Vanessa:)
-Cross posted at teentuesday.blogspot.com and whatvanessareads.wordpress.com
h1

Teaser Tuesday (8.19.08)- The Luxe by Anna Godbersen

August 19, 2008

Teaser Tuesdays asks you to:

  • Grab your current read.
  • Let the book fall open to a random page.
  • Share with us two (2) “teaser” sentences from that page, somewhere between lines 7 and 12.
  • You also need to share the title of the book that you’re getting your “teaser” from … that way people can have some great book recommendations if they like the teaser you’ve given!
  • Please avoid spoilers!

My current read: The Luxe by Anna Godbersen. 

Note: I’m only gonna flip open through the pages I’ve read (I don’t want anything spoiled either!).

First teaser: She sat like that for a long time, feeling lonelier than perhaps ever.

Second teaser: A ballroom, Penelope couldn’t help but thinking, far more vast and sparkling than the Holland ballroom.

 

🙂