h1

BBAW Interview with Alison from Worducopia

September 16, 2008

 

Hi guys! As part of Book Blogger Appreciation Week (Happy BBAW to all you book bloggers on the net) we were assigned another book blogger to interview. I must be the luckiest person in the world ’cause I’m telling you I got the most interesting and polite person. Her name is Alison and her website is over at worducopia.blogspot.com. She’s a wife and mother of two who loves as much YA as I do! So whenever you can, please check her blog out.The following is the interview. Her answers are in bold print. Enjoy! And if you’d like to check out the questions she asked me then click here and it will redirect you to her blog post.

 

How’d you come up with the name for your blog?

It’s a play on the word cornucopia. I played with words, trying to morph them into something bookish or wordish. So, I started with the word cornucopia, which means a whole lot of fresh food, and changed corn to word to get Worducopia …which I guess means a whole lot of fresh books!

What’s your favorite genre in books?

I don’t think of myself as a reader of any particular genre–I look for mainstream fiction that’s well-written with compelling characters. I also adore fantastic YA books, when they’re as well-written and well-thought out as adult books, just with younger characters.

Best place/site to shop for books?

I get most of my books either as ARCs or from the library. It’s very rare for me to purchase a book unless I know the author.

Describe yourself in a sentence no longer than 13 words long.

I’m a wife and mom who could never be described in 13 words.

What is your ultimate goal?

In life? To raise two young men who will make the world a better place by being themselves.

For my website? To inspire people to read good books and support authors in doing the amazing work they do.

What do you do in your spare time (that isn’t reading/reviewing)?

Hang out with my family (my two boys and my husband), work on my novel, sing with my choir. I love traveling, hiking and camping. And I’m trying to learn to knit well but it’s hard to knit and read or write at the same time so the knitting happens rarely.

 

She’s cool right? I knew you’d think so. Now leave some comments with your thoughts!

4 comments

  1. You’re so sweet! Thanks for the great interview and the kind words. I’m so glad we got paired up together, it was great fun.

    Ali (Alison)


  2. I agree Ali.

    I’ll be watching out for your blog now. 🙂


  3. I love her blog’s name! I remember when I was trying to come up with a name for my blog I had a very hard time because it seemed like everything i came up was already taken. lol

    and ohh she’s writing a novel! Can’t wait to see how that’s coming along. 🙂

    -May


  4. Lovely interview – thank you 🙂



Leave a comment